Catch A Glimpse Of This Year's Breakfast HERE

Breakfast 2022.jpg
Professional Pose White.jpg

Sydnor Thompson, Jr.
Community Leader Award

Shakieta Maloye is the Founder and CEO of Another Chance: House of Refuge. As an advocate for self-improvement, she dedicates her life to humanitarian service, life-long learning and the relaying of life's wisdom to all.


Since 2019, Shakieta’s nonprofit charity Another Chance: House of Refuge (ACHR) has provided transitional housing to men who were formerly incarcerated or homeless. ACHR's first transitional home includes wrap around services to assist residents’ growth towards self-sufficiency and achieving a life they deserve filled with dignity and respect. Shakieta also serves the Charlotte/Matthews community by providing food, clothing, and basic necessities to those in need.


Similar to many young women and men, Shakieta found herself facing limitless adversity through the course of her life. She has conquered many of life’s challenges and strives to fulfill her ordained calling of promoting prosperity and life enrichment for all.  It is this pure desire to serve others’ healing and our community’s unification that drove her to pursue training and certification as a Life Coach.


After achieving her Life Coach certification, she founded Pure Wisdom LLC.  Through her own transformation, Shakieta is now able to pass along empowering life coaching and consulting services. These services bridge the many gaps that deter the genuine connection of the mind, body and spiritual self for her clients.  Her coaching methods minimize the struggle and strife many individuals face in our society.  She prides herself on teaching methods that are “user friendly.”


Shakieta has been invited as a guest Transformation Speaker by the Salvation Army, The National Association of Virtuous Women of NC, Miss Black South Carolina, numerous women and children shelters as well as WGIV Soul of Charlotte-radio station.


Shakieta has molded herself into a leader, embodying an authentic, genuine and positive self.  In order to share life wisdom with as many people as she can, in 2018, she wrote her first book Paradise: Maximizing Your Life While Creating A Life of Miracles.


One of Shakieta’s beloved scripture verses is Mark 1:2, “I will send my messenger ahead of you, who will prepare your way.”.

Ismaail Qaiyim.jpg

Bridge Builder

Ismaail Qaiyim is the principal attorney at the Queen City Community Law Firm.  His commitment to providing high quality legal services to Charlotte’s underserved populations stems from his own experiences growing up in West Charlotte. His unique background as a community organizer, policy researcher, and freelance writer adds depth and clarity to his work as a Community-based attorney. 


Ismaail was the recipient of the (2019 -2020) Berkeley Law Foundation Fellowship which enabled him to build a partnership with the Latin American Coalition. His work with the Charlotte Housing Justice Coalition has informed his understanding of the needs of those who are facing eviction and are housing insecure. 


As a Charlotte Westside native, Ismaail is proud to serve his home city as an attorney and advocate. Ismaail’s work is informed by his formal education and experiences working in West Africa as a researcher and advocate for Friends of the Earth Liberia (SDI Liberia). His time spent assisting and working alongside tenants fighting for their rights in NYC through various internships and his legal clinic showed him the centrality of community-based empowerment in pushing for rights and societal transformation.  


Ismaail is a graduate of CUNY School of Law, and additionally, holds an MSc in Violence, Conflict and Development from the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), University of London. Ismaail believes housing is a human right and that lawyers should serve the people. He is also a non-recovering coffee addict.  

Become a Sponsor of MeckMIN's 2022
Community Leader Awards Breakfast

A Big THANK YOU To This Year's Sponsors

Manley & Jennifer Roberts

Beth Wells

Sara Haymond

Baha'i Community of Charlotte

Joe George
Children of Sydnor & Harriette Thompson, Jr.
Tom & Stephanie Fielder
We Walk Together

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints - Charlotte NC Coordinating Council
Dianne English

Muslim Community Center


Past Community Leader and Bridge Builder Award Winners


Greg & Helms Jarrell

Danny Trapp

Beverly Howard

Robert Dawkins

Russ Dean

Bob Henderson

Rodney Sadler

Peter Wherry

Dale Mullennix

Braxton Winston

Gail Card

Mike Campagna

Dianne English

Jerry Cannon

Willie Ratchford

Sarah Stevenson

Sara Haymond

Levine Museum of the New South

Darren Ash

Toussaint Romain

Imam Khalil Akbar

Rose Hamid

Chris Wolf/A Way Home

Race Matters for Juvenile Justice

Mary Nell McPherson

Ophelia Garmon-Brown

Sidney Sussman

Pamela L Davies

Rabbi Judy Schindler

Ruth & Dick Gault

Robert Bayless

 Marsha Kelly & Nikola Taylor / Migrant Assistance Project

 Susan Suarez Webster

Rev. Deborah C. Warren

Angie Forde

Temako "Meko" McCarthy